Meetings 2020-2021

Wed 12 May 2021 - David Clapp

7:30pm

We are joining Keswick PS for a presentation by award winning landscape and travel photographer, David Clapp

0 comments
cat-comp

Wed 5 May 2021 - Annual Competition PDI

7:30pm

Judged by Hunter Kennedy ARPS MPAGB EFIAP from Carluke.

0 comments

Wed 28 Apr 2021 - Gordon Rae MPAGB ARPS

7:30pm

Wildlife (mainly of the feathered variety) from Norway and Icelend. 

2 comments

Wed 21 Apr 2021 - Paul Stanley FIPF EFIAP/g

7:30pm

'My Photography' - travel, landscape, long exposure and architecture and not to be missed.

0 comments
cat-comp

Wed 14 Apr 2021 - Print League Competition - Round 4

7:15pm

Judged by Roy Essery MPAGB 

 

0 comments
cat-comp

Wed 7 Apr 2021 - Lochmaben Trophy and the President's Challenge

7:30pm

Covid has scuppered a lot of plans for this season but the Lochmaben Trophy will go ahead - albeit as a PDI competition with online voting.  Details will follow.

The President's Challenge this year is "Close to Home.'  Photos (up to three PDI) can be landscapes, still life, portraits, nature - taken in your home, your garden, at a local attraction etc.  The only restriction is they must be taken in Dumfries and Galloway and convey something of your or our home.  It's a wide remit so let your imagination run free.

1 comment

Wed 31 Mar 2021 - Sally Sallett ARPS AFIAP CPAGB BPE3*

7:30pm

'Never Underestimate an Old Woman with a Camera'  

0 comments
cat-comp

Wed 24 Mar 2021 - Print League Competition Round 3

7:30pm

Judged by Colin Westgate FRPS MFIAP MPAGB

0 comments

Wed 17 Mar 2021 - Badgers and Buildings

7:30pm

A change to the programme.  Unfortunately the SPF PDI show is not available but we have two excellent presentations to replace it.

Mick Durham will prove that you don't have to travel beyond your garden to get fantastic wildlife images and Dave Moyes will tell us how he created his stunning architecture shots.  

4 comments
cat-comp

Wed 10 Mar 2021 - PDI League Competition Round 4

7:30pm

Judged by Vic Hainsworth ARPS DPAGB 

0 comments

Wed 3 Mar 2021 - Joe Houghton

7:30pm

Joe will join us from Dublin and do 'live' edits of some of our RAW images using Lightroom, Photoshop and Silver Effex Pro.

0 comments

Wed 24 Feb 2021 - Julian Elliot

7:30pm

'Mongolia - From Steppe to Eagle Hunters'.  Take a journey through the landscapes of Mongolia, Julian headed out to the Altai staying with eagle hunters and shooting the eagle festival in March 2019.

 

0 comments

Wed 17 Feb 2021 - Stan Farrow FRPS EFIAP DPAGB

7:30pm

'Twenty Twenty Vision' is an overview of Stan's work in his 2019 exhibition, and work produced during lockdown

 

0 comments

Wed 10 Feb 2021 - Photos from Your Phone and from Your Past!

7:30pm

We saw some great images in last season's phone photography competition so it returns this year.  

As for the the second part - a wee bit of fun with a Who's Who multiple choice competition. Look out for the quiz sheets that will be posted as a bulletin nearer the night.

2 comments
cat-comp

Wed 27 Jan 2021 - PDI League Competition Round 3

7:30pm

Judged by Dennis Russ CPAGB AFIAP LRPS AWPF BPE1*

1 comment

Wed 20 Jan 2021 - Looking at Images, an Approach to Judging

7:30pm

This a new PAGB Recorded Lecture by John Tilsley 

0 comments

Wed 13 Jan 2021 - PAGB and RPS Distinctions Explained

7:30pm

The Club is fortunate to have as members, the RPS Distinctions Natural History Panel Chairman and the Chairman of the PAGB Awards for Photographic Merit Committee.   Mick and Rod will explain the distinctions systems and standards of each organisation and show examples of successful work at each level.

It's also a chance to see Margaret's successful ARPS Panel.

0 comments

Wed 6 Jan 2021 - Colin Harrison FRPS FBPE MFIAP MPAGB EFIAP/d3 MPSA GPSA AWPF APAGB

7:30pm

'My New Digital Adventure' is a lighthearted, fast flowing talk and Colin will pass on some of his digital “secrets” and enthusiasm for photography.

Colin is one of only three people in the UK to have achieved the FIAP Diamond 3 Distinction.  

0 comments

Wed 23 Dec 2020 - Zoom Christmas Quiz

7:30pm

It's more difficult to hold the famous Christmas Quiz online - but John McVie has a cunning plan. 

2 comments
cat-comp

Wed 16 Dec 2020 - Print League Competition Round 2

7:30pm

Judged by David Lowe ARPS DPAGB

0 comments

Wed 9 Dec 2020 - The SPF Portfolios

7:30pm

The recorded show of accepted images from the 2020 Portfolios - the best of Scottish amateur photography.

0 comments

Wed 2 Dec 2020 - Mark McColl

7:30pm

Spectacular landscape photography from near and far

3 comments
cat-comp

Wed 25 Nov 2020 - PDI League Competition Round 2

7:30pm

Judged by Marilyn Steward ARPS DPAGB BPE4* EFIAP/b

0 comments

Wed 18 Nov 2020 - The President Presents

7:30pm

More stories behind famous images.

2 comments

Wed 11 Nov 2020 - Gerry Andrews FIPF ARPS EFIAP

7:30pm

The welcome return of Gerry Andrews from Dublin.

6 comments

Wed 4 Nov 2020 - Wish You Were / Weren't Here?

7:30pm

Some people were lucky enough to get a holiday before lockdown - some had to find inspiration closer to home.  A chance for Members to share their images or AVs.

1 comment

Wed 28 Oct 2020 - Bob Given MPAGB EFIAP EPSA ABPE

7:30pm

An evening of fantastic sports photography - shared with Keswick Photographic Society.

0 comments
cat-comp

Wed 21 Oct 2020 - Print League Competition Round 1

7:30pm

Judged by John Tilsley ARPS DPAGB APAGB

0 comments

Wed 14 Oct 2020 - The Boys and Girl from Brazil

7:30pm

Carnival time with Anne, Rod, John and Richard.

2 comments
cat-comp

Wed 7 Oct 2020 - PDI League Competition Round 1

7:30pm

Judged by Paul Stanley FIPF EFIAP/g EsFIAP

0 comments

Wed 30 Sep 2020 - Favourite Photographs and RPS Successes

7:30pm

The 'in-house' programme includes successful ARPS Nature panels from Jean Robson and Gordon Rae

plus

'Ten from Three' - Margaret Elliot, John Smith and Simon Allen will each share and discuss their ten favourite photographs.

2 comments

Wed 23 Sep 2020 - Jane Lines LRPS MPAGB BPE5*

7:30pm

Jane will be 'Zooming' from her home in Wigan and presenting 'Cuba, not just Cocktails, Cigars and Classic Cars.'  

0 comments

Wed 16 Sep 2020 - Annual Print Competition Results

7:30pm

Judged by Gordon Jenkins, HonPAGB

1 comment

Wed 9 Sep 2020 - Annual PDI Competition Results

7:30pm

Judged by Hunter Kennedy, ARPS MPAGB EFIAP

0 comments

Wed 2 Sep 2020 - David Keep ARPS DPAGB FBPE AFIAP

7:30pm

A real treat to start to the new season - David Keep will present 'Underwater Photography - from Manatees to Crocodiles.'  Whale and hammerhead sharks, seals and diving gannets will also feature.   

We are sharing this presentation with Keswick Photographic Society.

5 comments